Former Members, Scientific Advisory Committee

Prof. Emer. Phillip V. Tobias

Phillip Vallentine Tobias is Professor Emeritus of Anatomy and Human Biology at the University of the Witwatersrand, and one of the world’s leading authorities on the evolution of humankind. Professor Tobias has been nominated for a Nobel Prize on three occasions, has received 17 honorary doctorates, and was awarded the Order of Meritorious Service of South Africa by former president Nelson Mandela.

Prof. Bruce Sidney Rubidge

Bruce Rubidge is the Director of the Bernard Price Institute for Palaeontological Research, and Head of the Palaeontology Department of the University of the Witwatersrand. He has published 85 articles in national and international scientific journals on various aspects of vertebrate palaeontology as well as bio- and litho- stratigraphy and sedimentology of Permian-Triasssic rocks of southern Africa. He serves on several national and international heritage and geoscience-related committees.

Prof. John Parkington

John Parkington is Professor in the Department of Archaeology at the University of Cape Town. He undertook both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Palaeolithic Archaeology at Cambridge University in England. His Ph.D. was awarded in 1977, since which time he has been Ad Hominem promoted to Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Associate Professor and full Professor.

Dr. Janette Deacon

Janette Deacon previously lectured Archaeology at University of Cape Town and Stellenbosch. She is an Archaeologist at the National Monuments Council, and is currently involved with the conservation and management of archaeological sites.

Dr. C.K. (Bob) Brain

Honorary Chief Scientific Advisor

Dr Bob Brain is a palaeontologist with wide interests in natural history. He is the author of almost 200 publications in this field, including several books, and is currently an Emeritus Curator at the Transvaal Museum in Pretoria, South Africa, an institution at which he has spent much of his working life and where he served as Director for 23 years.